Mr., Mrs. and Miss Grover Chronicles: Exciting new updates and The Christian that Cried Wolf

Well hello there my long lost friends…..You must be thinking, “It’s about time”.  It’s so good to be back again with the newest edition of Mr., Mrs., (and now Miss) Grover Chronicles. I’m sorry that it’s been so long since I’ve updated you on how things are going with us here in the North land, but now more than ever there are so many wonderful and exciting updates to share with you.  I hope you’ll take a chance to drop me a phone call or an email sometime to let me know how you’re doing and what’s new with you. I make it a priority during my prayer time and devotions to remember as many of you as I can as often as I can, asking God to encourage and bless you through all of the triumphs and trials that you face each day.

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL FIND IN THIS ALL NEW EDITION OF GROVER CHRONICLES:

  1. A long time coming…catching up.
  2. Love being fruitful…and multiplying.
  3. Church and ministry updates
  4. The Grove Grove Revolution Vlog has begun
  5. Cooking with The Grove
  6. Grover’s Unword of the Month
  7. The Christian that cried “Wolf”
  8. Praises, Prayer Requests and final words

______________________________________________________________________________

A Long Time Coming…catching up

Well. In the 16 plus years that I’ve been doing Grover Chronicles I’ve never been this late in sending out a new update. When I first started this roughly 16 years ago I was sending a new one out every couple of months, and then it slowly began to get further and further apart. I guess it goes with the territory.

So the past almost 2 years have been quite eventful for us here in Ottawa. After 9 years or so of trying, in September of 2011 Sarah finally got a full time contract with the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board as a Kindergarten teacher at a local public school. Though she was very thankful to finally have received the full time contract, the school year had its shares of blessings and struggles in the classroom. Sarah has always LOVED being a teacher, and in my estimation she’ll always love being a teacher in any situation or place that she finds herself. Sarah is now at a point where she is determining whether or not she will be returning to full time teaching since her maternity leave is almost over. This is a very serious and “involved” decision. Please keep us in prayer as we consider this option. We continue to be so thankful for the doors that God has opened to Sarah as a teacher.

As for me, I’ve spent the past couple of years keeping busy between work, church ministry, and completing a chef training degree from Algonquin College here in Ottawa. Most recently, I finished a week of security guard training and am now fully licensed in the province as a security guard. After months of applying and seeking work in this field with unfortunately no results, I was offered a job at a Limousine company here in Ottawa, which is where I am currently working now. A few months ago I was made aware of an opportunity to apply for a position with OC Transpo, the city of Ottawa’s transportation department. This is a 6 month process, and involves a 6 step process. I’m currently through the testing stage and into stage 3. They are looking to make final hiring decisions sometime before September, so please pray that God would direct every step of this process. This job would provide the best salary and benefits of any job that I have ever been offered. I am currently dealing with a driver’s license upgrade issue that is threatening the possibility for an upgrade that would allow me to obtain the proper driver’s license to secure this job. Thank you for your prayers in this regard. I have to say, as I have said on many occasions; it is easy to question God as to why He chooses to lead us in the direction that isn’t always the way that we would have thought or hoped for. Well, if you haven’t figured it out yourself yet, I’m here to tell you that there is no better place to be, than exactly where He wants you to be. Sometimes that means waiting on Him, seeking Him whole heartedly, and taking things one step at a time while you patiently wait for the next big direction in your life.

Loving Being Fruitful…and multiplying

I could go on for hours about our most precious new addition to our lives and home, Miss Grace Sophia Grover. She was born on July 10, 2012 at 4:30 am, weighing in at 8 pounds, 7 ounces. For years I’ve dreamt about what it would be like to not only be a father, but even to experience the whole process of taking part in, and observing child birth. For the majority of you who are parents, you understand the joys (and challenges) of being a parent. Grace reached 10 months old on May 10th, and I can honestly say that so far being a parent has brought me joy beyond compare and the challenges have been minimal, all things being equal. We have dealt with some bumps along the way, and particularly we are still dealing some sleeping issues, but all in all, Sarah and I are finding that being parents is truly the greatest blessing and joy that God has ever bestowed upon us individually and as a couple. Please pray that we would continue to have the strength and wisdom to care for our sweet Gracie in a way that would always glorify God.

Church and Ministry updates

Over the years, both Sarah and I have been far more than blessed to have been able to volunteer and use our gifts and talents to serve and assist in many different areas of ministry. Sarah was a children’s ministry director for 11 years. Both Sarah and I have had many years of being actively involved in worship ministry, and to this day we believe that although we have had the privilege of leading worship at different times, we continue to see ourselves as equal participants in the precious landscape of worship to our awesome God, seven days a week, and not just on Sundays or when we happen to be in the church building. For me (Jared),  I have had the privilege and opportunity to work with both children and youth since I was a young teenager in several different leadership roles. To this day, as much as possible, I never forget the impact that certain children and youth have had in my life personally.

I say all of this for this reason; in most of our lives, we get to a point where God moves us to a different place of service, both physically and geographically, and sometimes even psychologically. That is where Sarah and I are at currently. We are currently in the last month or so of looking for a new church home. Since the story is somewhat detailed and long, I will just say that neither of us have ever really been in the position where we needed to look for a new “long term” church home. We’ve both gone to college and had to adjust to different church homes for a short period of time, but at this point, we are now looking for a church home, that hopefully can be our final “move” (barring God’s ultimate direction for our life). For anyone that has gone through this process, you know that it is not necessarily a “fun” one, but we are thankful for it. We have enjoyed experiencing what many other churches have to offer and the wonderful people that serve Him throughout this great city of Ottawa. We have currently narrowed our search down to two wonderful churches, Sequoia Community Church (http://www.sequoiachurch.org) and Chapel Ridge (http://chapelridge.drupalgardens.com/). Sometime in the next month or so we will be making a final decision on which church that we will make our home. Please pray that Sarah and I will follow and  be sensitive to God’s leading as we enter into this new stage in our lives.

The Grove Grove Revolution Vlog HAS begun

Since many of you already know, I’m not going to beat a dead horse, but for all of those that are not familiar with it, I am so pleased to share with you that the first episode of The Grove Grove Revolution Vlog is finished and ready to be viewed. If you haven’t seen it, please take an opportunity to view it. I thoroughly enjoyed putting this together. Every segment had a lot of thought put into it; even the “silly” ones. This first episode is 33 minutes long, because I wanted to go for a “television” feel. Even if you don’t have a full 33 minutes to sit and watch the whole thing, you’ll find a detailed time table of contents at the very start of the video that will allow you to skip ahead to see certain segments, or to come back at a later time and view the rest of the video. In the future, I’m planning to produce the individual segments and share them individually (still as part of the overall vlog). If you’re looking for a laugh, or to just get an opportunity to see some things God has put on my heart, take a look, and hopefully you’ll be blessed.

GG Rev Vlog Logo

http://tinyurl.com/bnv5lu6

Cooking With The Grove

As most of you know, I have always had a love for cooking. In fact, in the past couple of years, I received my 1 year diploma from Algonquin College here in Ottawa in Culinary Skills/Chef Training, and am loving every bit of what I learned and have been able to put to use in my own kitchen. I decided that it was time to start doing a little cooking segment on my GG Rev Vlog (shortened name for my Vlog). This is just a reminder that very soon I will produce and publish the first in the segment, which will start with what some affectionately call Grover’s “world famous guac”. Well, I don’t claim that it’s world famous, but it’s still one of my favorites and I have appreciated the people that have shared their love for it. Here is the intro for Cooking with the Grove. Stay tuned for the first regular episode of this segment in the near future.

Cooking with The Grovehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1elIzb4FVBo

Grover’s Unword of the Month

haggleable (hăg’əl-ə’bəl)

a. (adj.) Negotiable, especially as to price.

Example: The sticker on this car is haggleable.

The Devo: The Christian That Cried Wolf

Definitely one of my all-time favorite parts of this blog over the years has been the devotional section. I am so thankful for the lessons and truths that God has taught me over the years, and I truly consider it a privilege to share just a little bit of what He teaches me in my own personal devotions. After years of having just this typed devotional, I thought it would be an excellent time to roll out a video version of the devotional. I call it, “The Devo”. I believe that both type written, and video are two very good channels of  communicating and sharing these thoughts.

In the first episode of The Devo, I share a devotional thought on “The Christian that Cried Wolf”.  In this edition of the Grover Chronicles, I’m going to encourage you to watch the first episode of The Devo, and then, starting with the next edition of Mr., Mrs, and Miss Grover Chronicles I will post both a written and the video option for the devotional thought. Hope this will bless your heart and challenge you to remember that when you make a request to God, that you understand that He hears and answers your prayers, but not necessarily in the exact time or way that you always expect. Don’t be a believer who is constantly asking for God’s help, and when He comes to help, you reject or dismiss the help that He so clearly is offering you. You can see this Devo here:

The Devo 1

https://vimeo.com/64936558

Praises, Prayer Requests and Final Words

My Friends, it is truly a blessing and a pleasure to call you friends. No matter where you are in your journey with God, or no matter where you are geographically, I am thankful for you, and am so glad that I have this means of communication with you.  Thank you for your care, concern, prayers, and interest in the Grover family.

We praise God for so many things, but specifically today, I thank God for continued good health within the whole family. Grace seems to be a very healthy little girl with the most beautiful smile and more joy on her face than we could ever ask for. I praise God the wonderful Christian friends who live near us that continue to be a blessing to us as we seek to keep our eyes on Him. Sarah and I give thanks and praise to God for helping us to get to a place where we are nearly decided upon our new church home.

Please pray for my job situation, as I am currently dealing with a very complicated drivers license upgrade that has caused me to have to be without my drivers license for at least 30 days, which is quite a challenge for us because my current job requires me to job, and since I am without a drivers license for this amount of time, I need to find some work to make up for the lost income during this time. Please pray that this will all be resolved in God’s will and timing and that He would provide a job for me to make up the money that I am losing this month.

Please pray for Sarah and I as we deal with Grace’s sleep situation. For a number of months Grace has been having a lot of problems with sleep at night. She sleeps fine during the day, but at night time, most nights she either can’t seem to get into a deep sleep and is falling asleep and waking up every couple of hours or so and sometimes can’t get back to sleep for 2-3 hours. It really becomes draining for Sarah. The very unfortunate thing is that I try to be of as much help as possible, but unfortunately (and it’s very hard for me to deal with sometimes) Grace does not want me at night time at all. She only wants Sarah, so I am only able to be of a very small amount of support to Sarah at night.

In Proverbs 20:6  it says, “Many will say they are loyal friends, but who can find one who is truly reliable?” (NLT). Sarah and I want to thank all of you for your love and prayers for us. We consider it a privilege to call you friends.

Blessings, until next time,

The Grovers

Leave a Reply

